

www.mountaincountieswater.com

Board of Directors and Officials

Scott Ratterman (CCWD) - President Barbara Balen (TUD) - Vice President Jim Holmes (County of Placer) - Secretary Lori Anzini (EID) - Treasurer

Mike Lee (PCWA) – Director

Lori Parlin (County of El Dorado) – Director Sue Hoek (County of Nevada) – Director

Don Blaser (YWA) – Director

Susan Peters (AWA) - Director

Dave Breninger, retired (PCWA) – Governmental Affairs Official
Tom Cumpston – Legal Counsel

Justin Caporusso - Executive Director

Executive Members

Amador Water Agency Calaveras County Water District County of Alpine County of Amador County of Calaveras County of El Dorado County of Nevada County of Placer County of Tuolumne County of Yuba El Dorado Water Agency El Dorado Irrigation District Foresthill Public Utility District Georgetown Divide Public Utility District **Grizzly Flats** Community Services District Jackson Valley Irrigation District Murphys Sanitary District Placer County Water Agency South Tahoe Public Utility District Tuolumne Utilities District Twain Harte Community Services District Utica Water and Power Authority Weimar Water Company Yuba Water Agency

Affiliate Members

City of Folsom Santa Clara Valley Water District April 29, 2024

The Honorable Bill Dodd California State Senate State Capitol 1021 O Street, Suite 7610 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SB 1159 (Dodd): CEQA: Exemption: Roadside Wildfire Risk Reduction Projects – SUPPORT

Senator Dodd:

On behalf of the Mountain Counties Water Resources Association's Board of Directors, I am writing to express our Support for your Senate Bill 1159 related to California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) exemptions for roadside wildfire risk reduction projects. This proposal aligns with our recently-adopted Forest Management Principles.

MCWRA advocates for the water interests of its 58 members in 12 of the mountain counties within the Wildland-Urban Interface (WUI) of woodland and forested lands in the Sierra Nevada. These foothill and mountain areas contain the headwaters for 40% of the state's developed water supply, which also provides for hydropower production, irrigation, recreation, water recycling, tourism, and instream flows that fuel the engine of our State's economy.

We thank you for your continued support of MCWRA region infrastructure, communities, and people.

Sincerely,

Scott Ratterman, President

Mountain Counties Water Resources Association