



www.mountaincountieswater.com

Board of Directors and Officials

Barbara Balen (TUD) – Secretary
Neil Cochran (FPUD) – Director
Randy Fletcher (YWA) - Director
Jim Holmes (County of Placer) – Director
Mike Lee (PCWA) – President
Dan Miller (County of Nevada) – Director
Paul Molinelli, Jr., (AWA) – Treasurer
Brian Oneto (County of Amador) – Director
Scott Ratterman (CCWD) – Vice-President

Dave Breninger, retired (PCWA) - Gov Affairs

July 25, 2020

<u> John Kingsbury – Executive Director</u>

Transmitted via electronic transmission

The Honorable Laura Friedman Chair, Assembly Natural Resources Committee State Capitol, Room 2137 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: Senate Bill No. 1348 (Stern) - Favor

Dear Assemblymember Friedman:

I am writing on behalf Mountain Counties Water Resources Association (MCWRA) to express support for SB 1348, relating to fire prevention.

MCWRA advocates for the water interests of its 67 members in 12 of the mountain counties within the Wildland-Urban Interface (WUI) of woodland and forested lands in the Sierra Nevada. These foothill and mountain areas contain the headwaters for 40% of the state's developed water supply, which also provides for hydropower production, irrigation, recreation, water recycling, tourism, and instream flows that fuel the engine of our State's economy.

MCWRA supports SB 1348 as the measure makes multiples changes in state law to enhance fire prevention efforts by the California Department of Forestry and Fire Prevention, including, among other things, improved vegetation management.

Current law requires the Director of Forestry and Fire Protection to identify areas of the state as very high fire hazard severity zones and requires a local agency, within 30 days after receiving a transmittal from the director that identifies very high fire hazard severity zones, to make the information available for public review. SB 1348 expands on this requirement by requiring the director to

Executive Members

Amador Water Agency (AWA)

Calaveras County Water District (CCWD)

Calaveras Public Utility District (CPUD)

County of Alpine

County of Amador

County of Calaveras

County of El Dorado

County of Nevada

County of Placer

County of Tuolumne

County of Yuba

El Dorado County Water Agency (EDCWA)

El Dorado Irrigation District (EID)

Foresthill Public Utility District (FPUD)

Georgetown Divide Public Utility District (GDPUD)

Grizzly Flats Community Services District (GFCSD)

Jackson Valley Irrigation District (JVID)

Murphys Sanitary District (MSD)

Nevada Irrigation District (NID)

Placer County Water Agency (PCWA)

South Tahoe Public Utility District (STPUD)

Tuolumne Utilities District (TUD)

Twain Harte Community Services District (THCSD)

Utica Water & Power Authority (UWPA)

Weimar Water Company

Yuba Water Agency (YWA)

Affiliate Members

City of Folsom

Rancho Murieta Community Services District

also identify moderate and high fire hazard severity zones and require that local agencies make the information available for public review and comment within 30 days.

The legislation also authorizes clearance of vegetation for defensible space purposes on adjacent property conducted pursuant to a local ordinance. The legislation would require the department to adopt, on or before July 1, 2021, regulations related to defensible space requirements in vacant lots. Further, the legislation would require the department, in cooperation with certain federal agencies, to establish a program for purposes of the development of specified federal environmental protection documents for landscape scale ecological restoration and fire resiliency projects on national forest lands that are at least 50,000 acres.

MCWRA respectfully request an "AYE" vote on SB 1348. Should you have any questions please feel free to contact Bob Reeb, Reeb Governmental Relations, LLC at robertreeb@comcast.net or (916) 558-1926.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

John Kingsbury, Executive Director

Mountain Counties Water Resources Association

c: The Honorable Henry Stern

Members and Consultant, Assembly Natural Resources Committee Assembly Republican Office of Policy

Office of the Governor

Board of Directors, Mountain Counties Water Resources Association Legislative Committee, Mountain Counties Water Resources Association