Board of Directors and Officials

Barbara Balen (TUD) – President Neil Cochran (FPUD) – Vice President Jim Holmes (County of Placer) – Director

Mike Lee (PCWA) – Director

Brian Oneto (County of Amador) – Director

Mike Ranalli (EDCWA/County of El Dorado) – Vice President
Scott Ratterman (CCWD) – Treassurer

Bill George, past (EID) – Ex Officio Norm Krizl, past (GDPUD) – Ex Officio

Dave Breninger, retired (PCWA) – Ambassador

John Kingsbury – Executive Director

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES

APRIL 12, 2019

Location:

Yuba Water Agency

Mountain Counties

WATER RESOURCES ASSOCIATION

Call the Meeting to Order – Barbara Balen, President at 8:37 a.m.

<u>In Attendance</u>: Barbara Balen, Neil Cochran, Randy Fletcher, Mike Lee, Scott Ratterman, Bill George, Dave Breninger, John Kingsbury, Ginny Borkowski

Absent: Brian Oneto, Jim Holmes, Norm Krizl

Introductions, Announcements, Agenda Item Changes, Public Comment: None

Business Items:

1. Approval of the Consent Calendar Items

Motion: Scott Ratterman Second: Randy Fletcher

Ayes: Barbara Balen, Neil Cochran, Randy Fletcher, Mike Lee, Scott Ratterman

Action: Approved the November 16, 2018 Board minutes

2. <u>Perspectives on local, regional, and statewide issues</u>

No Presentations

No Action Taken

3. Programs and Presentations

Staff reported on the various programs, briefings, meetings for the 1st quarter of 2019.monthly financial status and a proposed line item transfer

No Action Taken

4. Membership Variance Consideration for Murphy's Sanitation District

Motion: Randy Fletcher Second: Neil Cochran

Ayes: Barbara Balen, Neil Cochran, Randy Fletcher, Mike Lee, Scott Ratterman

Action:

- 1. Approve an Executive Membership Category Variance for the Murphy's Sanitation District under the appropriate water purveyor dues structure.
- 2. Direct staff to consult with Governance Committee to amend language in the Executive Membership dues category to include the words Collection and Distribution.

5. Consideration to Update ARTICLE V(A)(I) in the Bylaws

Motion: Randy Fletcher Second: Scott Ratterman

Ayes: Barbara Balen, Neil Cochran, Randy Fletcher, Mike Lee, Scott Ratterman

Action: Approve the clarification changes to section ARTICLE V(A)(I) in the Bylaws.

Executive Membership: Any county, public district, or other public agency located in the State of California in the counties of origin or within the MCWRA boundary adjacent to the central region of the Sierra Nevada

6. <u>Board Ad-Hoc Committee discussion and considerations</u>

The Board reviewed the interest to also become a 501 (c)(3) for the purpose of securing grants for its membership. The Board also discussed contracting with outside legal counsel, professional legislative advocacy, succession planning, the cost of doing business, and membership dues adjustments.

Motion: Scott Ratterman Second: Randy Fletcher

Ayes: Barbara Balen, Neil Cochran, Randy Fletcher, Mike Lee, Scott Ratterman

Action:

The Board determined that there is a demonstrated need for the following action items.

- apply to take action to become a 501(c)(3),
- seek outside legal counsel for regional interests
- a professional firm to support legislative advocacy in Sacramento for the region
- develop budget to incorporate the necessary adjustments for fiscal year 2019-2020
- Reports
- ❖ Adjourned at 11:30 a.m.