

**Executive Members** 

Amador Water Agency (AWA)

**Calaveras County Water District (CCWD)** 

Calaveras Public Utility District (CPUD)

County of Alpine County of Amador

County of Calaveras County of El Dorado

County of Nevada County of Placer

County of Tuolumne County of Yuba

El Dorado County Water Agency (EDCWA)

El Dorado Irrigation District (EID)

Foresthill Public Utility District (FPUD)

Georgetown Divide Public Utility District (GDPUD) Grizzly Flats Community Services District (GFCSD)

Jackson Valley Irrigation District (JVID)

Nevada Irrigation District (NID)

Placer County Water Agency (PCWA)

South Tahoe Public Utility District (STPUD)

**Tuolumne Utilities District (TUD)** 

Twain Harte Community Services District (THCSD) Utica Water & Power Authority (UWPA)

Weimar Water Company

Yuba Water Agency (YWA)

**Affiliate Members** 

**City of Folsom** 

Rancho Murieta Community Services District



April 1, 2019

www.mountaincountieswater.com

## **Board of Directors and Officials**

Barbara Balen (TUD) – President Neil Cochran (FPUD) – Vice President Randy Fletcher (YWA) – Director Jim Holmes (County of Placer) – Director Mike Lee (PCWA) – Director Brian Oneto (County of Amador) – Director Scott Ratterman (CCWD) – Treasurer

> Bill George, past (EID) – Ex Officio Norm Krizl, past (GDPUD) – Ex Officio

Dave Breninger, retired (PCWA) – Ambassador

John Kingsbury – Executive Director

The Honorable Ana Caballero California Senate State Capitol, Room 5052 Sacramento, California 95814

## Re: SB 669, Water Quality, Safe Drinking Water Fund

## **Position: Support**

Dear Senator Caballero:

I am writing on behalf of the Mountain Counties Water Resources Association (MCWRA) to express support for SB 669, relating to your measure related to a stable funding source for safe drinking water.

MCWRA advocates for the water interests of its 66 members in 12 of the mountain counties within the Wildland-Urban Interface (WUI) of woodland and forested lands in the Sierra Nevada. These foothill and mountain areas contain the headwaters for 40% of the state's developed water supply, which also provides for hydropower production, recreation, tourism, and instream flows that fuel the engine of our State's economy.

SB 669 would establish the Safe Drinking Water Trust that is intended to be funded from the General Fund for safe drinking water projects. As opposed to a "water tax", this measure is a better approach to addressing the human right to water and community water systems in disadvantaged communities.

For this reason, MCWRA supports SB 669.

PO Box 251

Placerville, CA 95667

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

John Kingsbury, Executive Director Mountain Counties Water Resources Association

c: Senator Andreas Borgeas Senator Jim Nielsen Assembly Member Frank Bigelow Assembly Member Brian Dahle Assembly Member James Gallagher Assembly Member Kevin Kiley Board of Directors, Mountain Counties Water Resources Association