



www.mountaincountieswater.com

Board of Directors and Officials

Barbara Balen, (TUD) – Vice President Neil Cochran (FPUD) – Director

Jim Holmes (County of Placer) – Director

Mike Lee (PCWA) – Director

Brian Oneto (County of Amador) - Director Michael Ranalli (County of El Dorado/ EDCWA) - Treasurer

Scott Ratterman (CCWD) - President

Bill George, past (EID) – Ex Officio Norm Krizl, past (GDPUD) – Ex Officio

Dave Breninger, retired (PCWA) - Ambassador

re breninger, retired (r own) - Ambassador

April 22, 2017

John Kingsbury - Executive Director

The Honorable Eduardo Garcia, Chair
Assembly Committee on Water, Parks and Wildlife
1020 N Street, Room 160
Sacramento, CA 95814

Delivery Hand Carried 4/22/17

Regarding: AB 1669 (Friedman) – OPPOSE

Dear Chair Garcia.

On behalf of the Mountain Counties Water Resources Association (MCWRA), I write to express our opposition to AB 1669 (Friedman), which would grant new authorities to the State Water Resources Control Board (SWRCB).

MCWRA detailed its opposition in general to this bill (AB 1669) and the related companion bill (AB 1668) in a letter delivered to your office and to each Assembly Member's office on Friday, April 14, 2017, which has been included herein for reference. The state would greatly benefit from a more strategic approach to water management than what is being proposed in this legislation. I encourage discussion and consideration of the questions and concerns raised in the April 14, 2017 letter.

While we are committed to the goals of long-term water-use efficiency, AB 1669's "command-and-control" approach is fundamentally flawed.

Specifically, it is not necessary to transfer the responsibility for developing conservation standards from the California Department of Water Resources (DWR) to the SWRCB. DWR has a proven track record of success and the expertise and regulatory structure needed to develop any future efficiency standards.

Additionally, the use of emergency regulations to adopt interim conservation standards also is unnecessary and violates public trust given that there are current standards in place and the drought emergency has been lifted.

Executive Members

Amador Water Agency (AWA)

Calaveras County Water District (CCWD)

Calaveras Public Utility District (CPUD)

County of Amador

County of Calaveras

County of El Dorado

County of Placer

County of Tuolumne

El Dorado County Water Agency (EDCWA)

El Dorado Irrigation District (EID)

Foresthill Public Utility District (FPUD)

Georgetown Divide Public Utility District (GDPUD)

Grizzly Flats Community Services District (GFCSD)

Nevada Irrigation District (NID)

Placer County Water Agency (PCWA)

South Tahoe Public Utility District (STPUD)

Tuolumne Utilities District (TUD)

Twain Harte Community Services District (THCSD)

Utica Water & Power Authority (UWPA)

Weimar Water Company

Affiliate Member

City of Folsom

City of Roseville

Associate - County

County of Alpine

County of Nevada

Despite the author's best intentions, unfortunately, AB 1669 would limit water use throughout California without regard to local water supply conditions, water rights and contracts, or local investments in water supply reliability and drought resiliency.

For these reasons, and the reasons detailed in the April 14, 2017 letter, MCWRA opposes AB 1669 (Friedman) and respectfully requests your "NO" vote when the bill is heard in the Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee on April 25, 2017.

If you have questions or if you would like to discuss this information, please contact me at (530) 957-7879.

Sincerely,

John Kingsbury, Executive Director

Mountain Counties Water Resources Association

Attachment: Letter dated April 14, 2017

c: Board of Directors, Mountain Counties Water Resources Association - (email transmittal)
Tim Quinn, Executive Director, Association of California Water Agency - (email transmittal)
John Woodling, Executive Director, Regional Water Authority - (email transmittal)
Ryan Ojakian, Senior Consultant, Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee
Robert Spiegel, Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus
John Kennedy, Policy Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus

The Honorable:

Assembly Member Laura Friedman

Members of the Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee

Assembly Member James Gallagher

Assembly Member Frank Bigelow

Assembly Member Steven Choi

Assembly Member Kansen Chu

Assembly Member Laura Friedman

Assembly Member Todd Gloria

Assembly Member Jimmy Gomez

Assembly Member Matthew Harper

Assembly Member Marc Levine

Assembly Member Devon Mathis

Assembly Member Blanca Rubio

Assembly Member Rudy Salas

Assembly Member Tony Thurmond

Assembly Member Jim Wood

Assembly Member Brian Dahle Assembly Member Kevin Kiley Senator Tom Berryhill Senator Ted Gaines Senator Jim Nielsen