

www.mountaincountieswater.com

Board of Directors and Officials

Barbara Balen, (TUD) – Vice President Neil Cochran (FPUD) – Director Jim Holmes (County of Placer) – Director Mike Lee (PCWA) – Director Brian Oneto (County of Amador) – Director Michael Ranalli (County of El Dorado/ EDCWA) – Treasurer Scott Ratterman (CCWD) – President

> Bill George, past (EID) – Ex Officio Norm Krizl, past (GDPUD) – Ex Officio

Dave Breninger, retired (PCWA) – Ambassador

John Kingsbury – Executive Director

The Honorable Eduardo Garcia, ChairAssembly Committee on Water, Parks and Wildlife1020 N Street, Room 160Sacramento, CA 95814Delivery I

Delivery Hand Carried 4/22/17

Regarding: AB 1667 (Friedman) – OPPOSE

Dear Chair Garcia,

April 22, 2017

On behalf of the Mountain Counties Water Resources Association (MCWRA), I write to express our opposition to AB 1667 (Friedman), related to agricultural water management plans. While we are dedicated to the goals of long-term water-use-efficiency and are supportive of the author's intent, we do not believe AB 1667 is currently workable.

As amended on April 18, 2017, AB 1667 goes beyond many agricultural water agencies' abilities and authority and will prove extremely costly without yielding the intended results. For example, delivering water within a 24-hour window in many cases simply will not be possible due to the location of storage facilities or flow and power restrictions.

We are also very concerned that AB 1667 does not include a collaborative stakeholder process, as outlined in the administration's final framework, "Making Conservation a Way of Life." MCWRA would like to participate in a stakeholder process to develop an approach that more closely aligns with the "Making Conservation a Way of Life" framework and ensures the efficient use of agricultural water resources.

For these reasons, MCWRA opposes AB 1667 (Friedman) and respectfully requests your "NO" vote when the bill is heard in the Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee on April 25, 2017.

Executive Members

Amador Water Agency (AWA)

Calaveras County Water District (CCWD)

Calaveras Public Utility District (CPUD)

County of Amador

County of Calaveras

County of El Dorado

County of Placer

County of Tuolumne

El Dorado County Water Agency (EDCWA)

El Dorado Irrigation District (EID)

Foresthill Public Utility District (FPUD)

Georgetown Divide Public Utility District (GDPUD)

Grizzly Flats Community Services District (GFCSD)

Nevada Irrigation District (NID)

Placer County Water Agency (PCWA)

South Tahoe Public Utility District (STPUD)

Tuolumne Utilities District (TUD)

Twain Harte Community Services District (THCSD)

Utica Water & Power Authority (UWPA)

Weimar Water Company

Affiliate Member

City of Folsom

City of Roseville

<u>Associate - County</u>

County of Alpine

County of Nevada

If you have questions or if you would like to discuss this information, please contact me at (530) 957-7879.

Sincerely,

John Kingsbury, Executive Director Mountain Counties Water Resources Association

 c: Board of Directors, Mountain Counties Water Resources Association - (email transmittal) Tim Quinn, Executive Director, Association of California Water Agency - (email transmittal) John Woodling, Executive Director, Regional Water Authority - (email transmittal) Ryan Ojakian, Senior Consultant, Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee Robert Spiegel, Principal Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus John Kennedy, Policy Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus

The Honorable:

Assembly Member Laura Friedman Members of the Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee

Assembly Member James Gallagher Assembly Member Frank Bigelow Assembly Member Steven Choi Assembly Member Kansen Chu Assembly Member Laura Friedman Assembly Member Todd Gloria Assembly Member Jimmy Gomez Assembly Member Jimmy Gomez Assembly Member Matthew Harper Assembly Member Marc Levine Assembly Member Marc Levine Assembly Member Devon Mathis Assembly Member Blanca Rubio Assembly Member Rudy Salas Assembly Member Tony Thurmond Assembly Member Jim Wood

Assembly Member Brian Dahle Assembly Member Kevin Kiley Senator Tom Berryhill Senator Ted Gaines Senator Jim Nielsen