

www.mountaincountieswater.com

Board of Directors
Don Stump – President
Norm Krizl – Vice President
Art Toy – Treasurer
Bill George – Director
Delbert Rotelli – Director

Barbara Balen – Ex Officio Lowell Jarvis – Ex Officio

John Kingsbury – Executive Director

VIA U.S. Postal Service and Email

November 22, 2013

John Laird, Secretary Natural Resources Agency 1416 Ninth Street, Suite 1311 Sacramento, CA 95814 Matthew Rodriquez, Secretary Environmental Protection Agency 1001 I Street Sacramento, CA 95814 Karen Ross, Secretary
Department of Food and Agriculture
1220 N Street
Sacramento, CA 95814

## **Executive Members**

**Amador Water Agency** 

Calaveras County Water District

**County of Calaveras** 

**County of Placer** 

El Dorado County Water Agency

**El Dorado Irrigation District** 

Foresthill Public Utility District

Grizzly Flats Community Services District

Georgetown Divide Public Utility District

**Nevada Irrigation District** 

Placer County Water Agency

South Tahoe Public Utility District

**Tuolumne Utilities District** 

Twain Harte Community Services District

**Utica Power Authority** 

Re: California Statewide Water Action Plan

Dear Secretaries Laird, Rodriguez, and Ross;

Thank you for the opportunity to provide comments on the Public Review Draft of the California Water Action Plan. The plan is a positive step forward to implement California Water Policy and we applaud the hard work and dedication of those within the administration who collaborated on drafting the document.

One major component missing from the comprehensive plan is the recognition of the Sierra Nevada headwaters that provides most of the water for the State's drinking water supply. These forested watersheds should be an integral part of the plan as the health and resiliency of these headwaters are vital to a sustainable California. Actions related to this issue in the current draft are limited to one item on meadow restoration.

The Action Plan does not adequately outline several other critical issues confronting California water management. Specifically, the final draft should affirm that it will adhere to area-of-origin protections, water right laws and contractual agreements, adapt the regulatory structure to clearly address climate change, provide for regulatory, operational, and supply assurances for those upstream of the Delta, sufficiently address the recent modeling that calls out reservoir "dead pool" conditions, affirm that there will not be redirected consequences upstream as a result of a BDCP, and lastly provide key action items, timelines to implement the plan, as well as, designating responsibility and accountability for implementing all elements of the California Water Action Plan.

To help attain and sustain a reliable water supply for all of California, we will need to advance the stewardship of not only the Sierra Nevada Mountains, but across all the

watersheds and headwaters in the State, increase the water carrying capacity in the watersheds, increase surface water supply and storage starting at the crest of the Sierra, all while reducing demand by increased water efficiency practices, and optimize recycling opportunities, groundwater injection, and desalination. There is no silver bullet. All these options should be outlined and considered in the final plan, without sacrificing one region's water reliability to benefit another region.

Included with this summary, I have enclosed proposed language changes to the Public Review Draft of the California Water Action Plan for your consideration. If you have any questions, please call me at 530.957.7879.

Sincerely,

John Kingsbury, Executive Director Mountain Counties Water Resources Association

c: MCWRA Board of Directors

The Honorable Jerry Brown Governor, State of California State Capitol, Suite 1173 Sacramento, CA 95814

## The Honorable:

Congressman Tom McClintock U.S. House of Representatives 428 Cannon HOB Washington, DC 20515

Randy Moore United States Forest Service Pacific Southwest Regional Forester 1323 Club Drive Vallejo, CA 94592

Assemblymember Frank Bigelow California State Capitol, Room 4116 Sacramento, CA 94249

Assemblymember Beth Gaines Capitol State Capitol, Room 2130 Sacramento. CA 94249

Senator Ted Gaines California State Capitol, Room 3070 Sacramento, CA 95814 Senator Dianne Feinstein United States Senate 331 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Barnie Gyant United States Forest Service Pacific Southwest Deputy Regional Forester 1323 Club Drive Vallejo, CA 94592

Assemblymember Brian Dahle California State Capitol, Room 2174 Sacramento, CA 94249

Senator Tom Berryhill California State Capitol, Room 3076 Sacramento, CA 95814

Senator Jim Nielsen State Capitol, Room 4062 Sacramento, CA 95814 Mark Cowin, Director California Department of Water Resources P.O. Box 942836, Room 1115-1 Sacramento, CA 94236-0001

Ken Alex, Director Governor's Office of Planning and Research P.O. Box 3044 Sacramento, CA 95812-3044

Sunne McPeak, President Charles Gardiner, Executive Director Delta Vision Foundation Email only

Jim Branham, Executive Director Sierra Nevada Conservancy 11521 Blocker Dr., Ste. 205 Auburn, CA 95603

Chris Knopp, Executive Director Delta Stewardship Council 980 Ninth Street, Suite 1500 Felicia Marcus, Chair State Water Resources Control Board 1001 I Street Sacramento, CA 95814

Debbie Davis Community and Rural Affairs Advisor Governor's Office of Planning and Research P.O. Box 3044 Sacramento, CA 95812-3044

Steve Frisch, Executive Director Sierra Business Council 10183 Truckee Airport Rd #202 Truckee, CA 96161

Kathy Mannion, Legislative Advocate Regional Council of Rural Counties 1215 K Street, Suite 1650 Sacramento, CA 95814