Northern California Coalition

Calaveras County Water District Central Delta Water Agency Citrus Heights Water District City of Hayward City of Manteca City of Sacramento City of Stockton City of Roseville County of Sacramento Del Paso Manor Water District East Bay Municipal Utility District El Dorado County Water Agency El Dorado Irrigation District Foresthill Public Utility District Jackson Valley Irrigation District Kirkwood Meadows Public Utility District Modesto Irrigation District Mountain Counties Water Resources Association Placer County Water Agency Rancho Murieta Community Services District Reclamation District #3 Reclamation District #17 Reclamation District #150 Reclamation District #684 Reclamation District #999 Reclamation District #2024 Reclamation District #2038 Reclamation District #2072

Undersecretary Jerry Meral April 14, 2010 Page 2 of 6

Regional Water Authority Sacramento Municipal Utility District Sacramento Suburban Water District San Francisco Public Utilities Commission San Juan Water District San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors South Delta Water Agency Stockton East Water District Tuolumne Utilities District Woodbridge Irrigation District Yolo County Flood Control & Water Conservation District Yuba County Water Agency

April 14, 2011

Dr. Jerry Meral Undersecretary, California Natural Resources Agency 1416 Ninth Street, Suite 1311 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Dr. Meral:

As interested observers of the Bay Delta Conservation Plan (BDCP) process, we are aware of Governor Brown's commitment to advancing a solution for the Delta that meets the co-equal goals of reliable export water supplies and a restored Delta ecosystem. While all the undersigned agencies hold vital interests in the Delta watershed, none of us anticipates any direct benefits from the BDCP. By contrast, the BDCP proponents will have the very tangible benefit of 50-year operating permits for exporting water if the BDCP is approved.

We ask the state to reaffirm the principle in the CALFED Record of Decision (ROD) that **any solution undertaken "should have no significant redirected impacts."** We believe the ROD was correct in stating:

"Solutions will not solve problems in the Bay Delta system by redirecting significant negative impacts, when viewed in their entirety, within the Bay Delta or to other regions of California."

Undersecretary Jerry Meral April 14, 2010 Page 3 of 6

Adhering to this principle remains as vital today - if not more so - as when the ROD was signed. In meeting the challenges that lay before us with regard to the Delta, broad agreement on the major solutions will be essential.

Sincerely,

Joone Lopez, General Manager Calaveras County Water District

Dante John Nomellini, Counsel Central Delta Water Agency

Joseph M. Dion, President, Board of Directors Citrus Heights Water District

Michael Sweeney, Mayor City of Hayward



Willie W. Weatherford, Mayor City of Manteca

Waty

Marty Hanneman, Director City of Sacramento, Department of Utilities

Willow

Jeff Willett, Interim Director of Municipal Utilities City of Stockton

Derrick Whitehead, Environmental Utilities Director City of Roseville

Herb Niederberger, Jr., Interim Director of Water Resources County of Sacramento

Nebra Sedwick

Debra Sedwick, General Manager Del Paso Manor Water District

Undersecretary Jerry Meral April 14, 2010 Page 4 of 6

Alugages Cer

Alexander R. Coate, General Manager East Bay Municipal Utility District

: Aber and

Jim Abercrombie, General Manager El Dorado Irrigation District

Dave Eggerton, General Manager El Dorado County Water Agency

Glenn Carnahan

Interim General Manager Foresthill Public Utility District

Tom Hoover, General Manager Jackson Valley Irrigation District

Tom Henie, General Manager Kirkwood Meadows Public Utility District

Allen Short

Allen Short, General Manager Modesto Irrigation District

John Kingsbury, Executive Director Mountain Counties Water Resources Association

David Breninger, General Manager Placer County Water Agency

Edward R. Crouse, General Manager Rancho Murieta Community Services District

Ken Pucci, President Reclamation District #3

Henry C President.

Board of Trastees of Reclamation District Reclamation District #17 (Mossdale Tract)

Undersecretary Jerry Meral April 14, 2010 Page 5 of 6

what

Warren Bogle, President Reclamation District #150

KURT SHARP

President Reclamation District #684 (Lower Roberts Island)

John R. Welle

John R. Webber, General Manager Reclamation District #999

Don Wagenet President

Board of Trustees Reclamation District #2024 (Orwood Palm Island)

artit

Kevin Jones, President Board of Trustees Reclamation District #2038 (Lower Jones Tract)

Coleman Fole

Coleman Foley, President Board of Trustees Reclamation District #2072 (Woodward Tract)

John Woodling, Executive Director Regional Water Authority



John DiStasio, General Manager & Chief Executive Officer Sacramento Municipal Utility District

Robert S. Roscoe, General Manager Sacramento Suburban Water District

Michael Carlin, Deputy General Manager San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

an ce

Shauna Lorance, General Manager San Juan Water District

Larry Ruhstaller

Larry Ruhstaller, Chairman District 2 San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors

Undersecretary Jerry Meral April 14, 2010 Page 6 of 6

Ken Vogel

Ken Vogel, District 4 San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors

Jahm Herric

John Herrick, Counsel & Manager South Delta Water Agency

I de Kampe

Peter Kampa, General Manager Tuolumne Utilities District

Zom M. Low

Kevin Kauffman, General Manager Stockton East Water District

Cc: Senators Dianne Feinstein & Barbara Boxer Members of California Congressional delegation Kenneth Salazar, Secretary of the Interior David Hayes, Deputy Secretary of the Interior Michael Connor, Commissioner, Bureau of Reclamation Donald Glaser, Director, USBR Mid-Pacific Region Governor Jerry Brown John Laird, Secretary, Natural Resources Agency Mark Cowin, Director, Department of Water Resources John McCamman, Director, Department of Fish and Game Members of the California Legislature Delta Stewardship Council State Water Resources Control Board

Jen Chistousen

Anders Christensen, General Manager Woodbridge Irrigation District

(12 PALL

Tim O'Halloran, General Manager Yolo County Flood Control & Water Conservation District

Cu + alen

Curt Aikens, General Manager Yuba County Water Agency